St. Patrick’s day piano fun

The more I incorporate the festivities of upcoming holidays, the more fun piano lessons seem to be, both for me and my students!

So, with St. Patrick’s day right around the corner, I’ve been searching for some creative ways to add some green, luck and shamrocks into my upcoming lessons.

I found some great St. Patty’s day themed worksheets from another blogger’s site that help review note spelling and rhythms. You can find the PDFs of those worksheets here:

Shamrock Notes

Clover of Rhythms

Holidays are also a great excuse for me to reward my students with cute treats for always practicing so diligently and paying such great attention during lessons. I really am so grateful to have wonderful students so I decided to show them a little St. Patrick’s Day love with these treats:

I got the inspiration for this idea from a crafty blogger but decided to make a few changes and adapt it to be a little more musically decorated.

Here’s what you’ll need to create your own:

  • green cardstock
  • stickers (I used St. Patty’s day ones and musical ones)
  • scissors
  • sharpie/marker
  • Lucky Charms cereal

Next, I cut out a shamrock-shape on the green paper. Then, I added some stickers to jazz it up and wrote in the middle “So LUCKY you are my student”.

Finally, I attached the shamrock to the container of Lucky Charms.

My students and I will be celebrating St. Patrick’s day a little late (on the Monday after) but hey, it’s never to let for celebrating!

Have an idea for St. Patrick’s day? I’d love to hear it! Don’t forget to wear green!

2 thoughts on “St. Patrick’s day piano fun

Leave a Reply

